National Omnium Champs lures SA’s top stars


South Africa’s top track cycling stars are gearing up for the 2015 SA Omnium Track Championships, which will take place at Cyril Geoghegan Cycle Track in Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, on 10-11 July. In addition, the first round of the prestigious 2015 Interprovincial and Grand Prix Series kicks off at the same venue on Sunday 12 July.

Being a specialist event, the Omnium is held separately to the SA Track Champs each year due to the demanding programme that it brings to the cyclists.

Made up of six events held over two days, riders will compete in a Scratch race (15km for men, 10km for women), Individual Pursuit (4km for men, 3km for women), Elimination, Time Trial (1km for men, 500m for women), Flying lap and a Points race (40km men, 25km for women).

In addition to the SA National Track Champs and the SA Omnium Champs, the three Inter-Provincials and Grands Prix are listed on the calendar to provide the riders with some top-class events to test their competitive edge against their peers.

The highly competitive Interprov sees the best track riders in any age group of each province compete in teams consisting of men and women in the team sprint, team pursuit, 1500m and the devil. Participants race with pride as they represent their provinces with the grand prize of the coveted President’s Cup at stake at the end of the three-event series.

KwaZulu-Natal, Gauteng and Free State will go head-to-head against Western Cape in an attempt to dethrone the dominant defending champions. The competition has also been opened to the Veteran class, which proved extremely popular last year and is expected to draw greater interest this year.

The Grand Prix provides a platform for riders to compete as individuals in order to earn individual points in the Sprint, Keirin, Points and Scratch races, which will make them eligible for selection to represent South Africa at the African Continental Championships. Competing in the African Continental Champs offers a great advantage, as the Confederation for African Cycling will send those riders who have qualified directly to the World Championships.